Wrock… crazy weird? Or crazy AWESOME?

I bet the only question on your mind right now is “What the hell is Wrock?” Wrock stands for “Wizard Rock”. It’s a genre of rock music that originated sometime between 2002 and 2004. Wizard Rock bands are known by their humorous songs regarding… the Harry Potter universe.

Okay. I admit it. I am a crazy fan of Harry Potter. I was at Barnes & Noble for every release of the book (besides the first & second one) and one year I even dressed up. (>.>) I’ve read the books a gazillion (it’s a number) times. I’ve been to Harry Potter land multiple times now and even have the year pass to go whenever I can.

So of course when I heard about these “Harry Potter bands” (shout out to Paul for showing me!) I went home and googled whatever I could. What I found was fan.tas.tic.

*Note: I think you really do have to be a Harry Potter fan to enjoy them. For the most part they only talk about people, places and things regarding the book.

Here are a few of the ones I really dug:

Ministry of Magic (Check out “Gryffindor Rally Cry” or “Accio Love”)

Harry and the Potters (Check out “Phoenix Song”)

Draco and the Malfoys (Check out “Potions Yesterday”)

If you’re interested in checking out a few more:

The Remus Lupins, The Whomping Willows, Justin Finch-Fletchley, The Moaning Myrtles, Gred and Forge.

I’m sure there are a ton more! If I missed one you really love, send it over and I’ll put it up!

What do you think of Wrock?

– M

2 responses to “Wrock… crazy weird? Or crazy AWESOME?

  1. Ray, Joe, and I are going to see Harry & the Potters tomorrow night!

Discuss!

